Thank you Class of 2017 Libraries Student Employees

University Libraries honor 37 senior student employees

By Vince Frieden, strategic communications coordinator, University Libraries

Senior Gideon Gyebi, one of 37 graduating Miami University Libraries student employees recognized at Sunday’s Libraries Student Recognition Dinner, has been named the 2017 University Libraries Outstanding Student Employee of the Year.

Gyebi, a health promotion major from Cincinnati, received the honor from Jerome Conley, dean and university librarian, and Kristina Abney, Libraries manager of access and circulation. He spent the past two years working at King Library’s circulation desk, and, in the nomination, Abney cited Gyebi for his high level of customer service.

“He is so helpful and friendly to library patrons that his fellow student workers have commended him,” Abney said. “He is a super friendly, model student worker whose approach to every single patron is to go above and beyond. Gideon’s the embodiment of what I think about when I think “library service.”

The Outstanding Student Worker of the Year award and Libraries Student Recognition Dinner launched last year as a way of thanking and recognizing the University Libraries’ senior student employees. Across four campus locations, the University Libraries currently employ 115 student workers.

“From the unseen operations that allow our resources to arrive in the right places at the right times to those students who directly support patrons, our student employees are an extension of the high level of service we strive to provide within the University Libraries,” Conley said. “They are very much a part of our Libraries family, and we could not do what we do without their hard work and the pride they take in their roles.”

Also honored during the night were four honorees for the Libraries Award for Undergraduate Research Excellence and the five founding and graduating members of the Libraries Student Advisory Council—Nicole Anselmo, Jeffrey Guggenheim, Mary Kate Kuchers, Bryan Roberson and Ryan Rugani.

The full listing of all University Libraries’ student employees who will graduate in spring, summer or fall 2017 is as follows.

Esther Adu

Kim Agyekum

Audrey Borgert
Music Education

Mackenzie Clune
Journalism/Comparative Media Studies

Elisabeth Cordray
Special Education

Dustin Cruse
Mechanical Engineering

Nora Duckett
Software Engineering

Andres Durandeau
Economics/International Studies

Coartney Freeland
Music Performance

Joshua Futch
Information Systems/Business Analytics

Jayla Gentry

Katie Gliebe
Media and Culture

Gideon Gyebi
Health Promotion

Lauren Hutchison
Software Engineering

Jelani Johnson
Speech Pathology and Audiology

Mary Kate Kuchers
Strategic Communications/Interactive Media Studies

Henry Leaman

Katie Leveline
Integrative Studies

Shelby Mass
Music Performance

Adit Mehta

Cori Mobley
English Literature

Ellen Molinaro

Nora Molinaro
Interactive Media Studies/Graphic Design

Mitch Ocran

Cody Philips
Mathematics & Statistics/Analytics

Mitchell Poetter
Sports Leadership & Management (master’s)

Anthony Rapp

Zuryhel Rivera

Ryan Rugani
Political Science

Kaitlyn (Katiebeth) Smith
Early Childhood Education

Callie Smith
History/Political Science

David Ternik
Mechanical Engineering/Physics

Kaylee Via
English Literature (master’s)

Bradley Wells
Zoology/Geographic Information Science

Kristen Wolters
Music Education

Huibing (Amy) Yang

Kadeem Yorke
International Studies/Media and Culture