Databases : B

Displaying 1 - 26 of 26

BDSL (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft)

BDSL is the on-line edition of the Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft, and provides citations to books and articles on German-language literature, linguistics, film, theater, and related subjects, from 1985 to the present. The Libraries holds the printed edition of BDSL, which covers from 1945-2005.


Connect to BDSL (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft)

Bible in English

Full text of 21 major editions of the Bible written in English from the tenth century to the present. It includes the editions by John Wycliffe, William Tyndale, Miles Coverdale, and Noah Webster, as well as the Geneva, King James, Bishops', New English, and Good News Bibles. It is searchable by keyword and parallel text.


Connect to Bible in English

Bibliography of American Literature

The Bibliography of American Literature provides nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution (about 1712) to 1930. Information included is first printings, reprints, and critical articles. Searching can be done by keyword, keyword in title or author, or imprint. Compiled by Jacob Blanck and Michael Winship and originally published in 9 volumes by Yale University Press, 1955-1991.


Connect to Bibliography of American Literature

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Oxford campus users only.

The Bibliography of Asian Studies contains over 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. It includes citations to Western-language books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and chapters in edited volumes. Older print volumes are located in SWORD. There is a five-year lag in the publication of this bibliography.


Connect to Bibliography of Asian Studies

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.


Connect to Bibliography of Native North Americans

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts scholarly writing on the history of European and American art from late antiquity (4th century AD) to the present. Sources include art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and over 4,300 periodicals. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative and applied arts, industrial design and architecture, and popular and folk art. Photography and contemporary new media as well as performing arts (scenography and costume) are also covered. BHA is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials.


Connect to Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)

A full-text database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.


Connect to Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)

Biography Reference Bank

Biographical information on over half a million people from around the world, with articles from such biographical reference books as Current Biography and the World Author Series, as well as magazine citations from Biography Index Database after 1984. Some third party publications are included, such as a subset of the biographies from Oxford's American National Biography.


Connect to Biography Reference Bank

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus covers agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and more. This database includes full text for over 100 journals dating back to 1997, indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications dating back to 1983, and more than 200 podcasts from respected sources, including Boston's Museum of Science.


Connect to Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

Biological Abstracts

An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology.


Connect to Biological Abstracts

BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present)

BIOSIS Citation Index covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology.


Connect to BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present)

BIOSIS Previews

BIOSIS Previews provides the most comprehensive coverage of worldwide literature in the life sciences, including biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.


Connect to BIOSIS Previews

Birds of North America Online

Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds, including image, video, and audio galleries for many of the 716 described species.


Connect to Birds of North America Online

Black Drama 1850 to Present

Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, searchable information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Produced by Alexander Street Press.


Connect to Black Drama 1850 to Present

Black Drama 1850 to Present, 2nd Edition

African, African American, and Diaspora, 1850 to present. Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.


Connect to Black Drama 1850 to Present, 2nd Edition

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records

The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.


Connect to Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records

Black Short Fiction and Folklore

A full-text collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will feature 8,000 stories and folk tales published in more than 15 countries from the mid-1900s to the present, including previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by many authors, as well as complete runs of selected literary magazines that feature short stories.


Connect to Black Short Fiction and Folklore

Black Thought and Culture

Database contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Full texts of books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.


Connect to Black Thought and Culture

Book Citation Index (2005-present)

The Book Citation Index in Web of Science Core Collection connects a library’s book collection to powerful discovery tools, giving researchers the ability to quickly and easily identify and access the most relevant books. As a part of Web of Science Core Collection, Book Citation Index allows users to search seamlessly across books, journals and conference proceedings to find the information most relevant to their work within one platform.


Connect to Book Citation Index (2005-present)

Book Review Index Online

The most comprehensive index of book reviews, it includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers. It includes the entire backfile from the original print edition of Book Review Index, which dates back to 1965. Book Review Index Online is searchable by author of book reviewed, title of book reviewed, publication date, reviewer, title of review, review length, journal, refereed publications, and reading level.


Connect to Book Review Index Online

Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics Recorded Animal Sounds

The Borror Laboratory houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals (chiefly birds).


Connect to Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics Recorded Animal Sounds

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD) includes diaries and letters of British and Irish women in the UK and abroad. Aside from a keyword index, the database also has indexes for author characteristics, places, dates, and personal events.


Connect to British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries

British Periodicals Collection II

British Periodicals Colleciton II consists of more than 300 journals from the ProQuest microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. All of this material is available in page image format with fully searchable text. Users can filter results by article type and download articles as either PDFs or JPEG page images. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture.


Connect to British Periodicals Collection II

BrowZine Web

BrowZine works by uniting articles from databases into complete journals, then arranging them by subject on a library-branded newsstand. Scholarly journals can be browsed, read, and monitored on a tablet. A short introduction video is available online. The BrowZine Web service allows users to access BrowZine from virtually any device using a web browser.


Connect to BrowZine Web

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more. Includes over 600,000 corporate names with cross-references to specific industries and countries as well as SIC and NAICS industry and product codes for over 190,000 subject terms.


Connect to Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete indexes and abstracts 4,450 scholarly business journals, of which over 3,600 are available in full-text. This database covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing. It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for 10,000 of the world's largest companies through Datamonitor.


Connect to Business Source Complete