Databases : C

Displaying 1 - 44 of 44

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Includes access to Cabell's directory of publishing opportunties: Business Directory as well as Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in educational curriculum & methods, Cabell’s directory of publishing opportunities in educational psychology, and Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in Educational Technology and Library Science.


Connect to Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Caribbean Search

Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains hundreds of Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.


Connect to Caribbean Search

Central & Eastern European Academic Source

Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) is a multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. The collection contains hundreds of full-text publications covering many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region.


Connect to Central & Eastern European Academic Source

Chicago Manual of Style Online (16th ed)

The Chicago Manual of Style contains state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age. The online manual provides convenient tools, such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and a quick guide to citation. Additionally, the online format of this resource incorporates the popular Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. Your queries will return results—clearly distinguishable—from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A.


Connect to Chicago Manual of Style Online (16th ed)

Chicago Tribune Historical

Full text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune from its beginning in 1849 until 1991. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.


Connect to Chicago Tribune Historical

Children's Core Collection

Oxford campus users only.

Containing over 13,000 titles, this rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian—both periodicals and books—is also covered.


Connect to Children's Core Collection

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Extensive information about children's books, video and audio recordings and other children-focused media. The CLCD presently contains more than 1,400,000 catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned. In addition, the database contains more than 130,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Search for specific subjects, titles, authors, and see the associated reviews, prepare annotated lists/bibliographies, identify reading levels, and link to author/illustrator sites and curriculum tools.


Connect to Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Children's Picture Book Database (Miami University)

The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University is a collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three. Search over 900 keywords (topics, concepts, and skills) to locate books with storylines adaptable to your curriculum or program. The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University is also a useful collection for English Language Learners and adult literacy programs.


Connect to Children's Picture Book Database (Miami University)

Choice Reviews Online

1 simultaneous user.

Online version of the monthly book review publication, Choice, this provides web access to the entire database of Choice reviews published since September 1988.


Connect to Choice Reviews Online

Chronicle of Higher Education

The source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle site features the complete contents of the latest issue, daily news and advice columns, thousands of current job listings, articles published since September 1989, discussion forums, and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. Create an account at The Chronicle with your @miamioh.edu email address to access the Chronicle from any location.


Connect to Chronicle of Higher Education

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL (Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals and includes more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.


Connect to CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Cincinnati Enquirer (2010-present)

Access the Cincinnati Enquirer digital microfilm for 2010 through the present year here. After clicking the link, select the Cincinnati Enquirer from the dropdown menu.


Connect to Cincinnati Enquirer (2010-present)

Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-1922)

The Cincinnati Enquirer Historical offers full-text and full-image articles for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-1922. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.


Connect to Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-1922)

Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX)

Created and maintained by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County staff, this database indexes selected articles on local topics from area newspapers, currently including the Cincinnati Enquirer, the Cincinnati Post, the Cincinnati Herald, the Business Courier, Cincinnati Magazine, and the Downtowner. Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.


Connect to Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX)

Cities in American Political History

Profiling the ten most populous cities in the United States during ten critical eras of political development, Cities in American Political History presents a unique singular focus on American cities, their government and politics, industry, commerce, labor, and race and ethnicity. Cities in American Political History analyzes the role that large cities from New York to Chicago to San Jose, have played in U.S. politics and policymaking. Each entry is structured for straightforward comparison across issues and eras. The city profiles include basic data and statistics for the era and are accompanied by maps of each era and the largest cities at that time.


Connect to Cities in American Political History

Clase and Periodica

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages from countries in Latin America and the Carrbbean.


Connect to Clase and Periodica

Cleveland News Index

Indexes local news stories, feature articles, and reviews primarily from the The Plain Dealer from 1983-1999. Since 2000 it only selectively indexes Cleveland Magazine (1983- ), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ), and Ohio (Oct. 1990- ). Searching is by subject. No full-text is available.


Connect to Cleveland News Index

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. Content includes:

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews)
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials)
  • Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies)
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments)
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations) 

Connect to Cochrane Library

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

Interactive source of new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums made possible by online publication. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the classic Cold Spring Harbor lab manual style.


Connect to Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

Columbia Encyclopedia

A handy, reliable one-volume encyclopedia containing nearly 51,000 entries. About one quarter of the articles have bibliographies.


Connect to Columbia Encyclopedia

Columbia Gazetteer of the World

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World provides users with access to authoritative information on more than 170,000 places and areas around the world. Coverage extends beyond the country level to states, cities, towns, provinces, counties, villages, hamlets, and neighborhoods. In addition to statistical data, the Gazetteer provides rich, in-depth information about the economic, historical, and cultural context of places. Gazetteer's entries cover: demography, physical geography and political boundaries; industry, trade, and agriculture; cultural, historical, and archaeological points of interest; transportation lines, longitude, latitude, and elevations; official government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings. Includes maps, almanacs, and historical population figures, starting with every available U.S. census from 1790 to 2000.


Connect to Columbia Gazetteer of the World

ComAbstracts

ComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase. You can also browse a list of keywords.

ComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.).

ComUpdate allows you to select classification terms and a date range in order to stay current on recently added materials. Full records will now display a "Check your library for full text access" link, which will direct you to full text access (if available) through the "Find It!" service.


Connect to ComAbstracts

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).


Connect to Communication & Mass Media Complete

Compendex (Engineering Village)

Compendex is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database.

Coverage includes the following areas:
Manufacturing Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Engineering Management
Chemical Engineering
Paper Engineering
Transportation
Bioengineering
Aerospace Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Environmental Engineering

Compendex covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.


Connect to Compendex (Engineering Village)

Computer Source

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Contains 450 titles, with full text for over 300 titles. Click here for a complete title list


Connect to Computer Source

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is also available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.


Connect to Computers and Applied Sciences Complete

Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research

Provides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on the latest issues in business management and on United States and global economics. Also includes access to their annual studies on Top Executive Compensation, Corporate Contributions and Directorship Compensation and Board Practices. There is also access to executive action series reports, in-depth analysis of critical economic topics, regular forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates, data on business executives expectations, consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators, and help-wanted index and Conference Board of Canada publications. Note this database does NOT include business cycle indicator data, consumer confidence survey data or leading indicators data. These are separate subscriptions.


Connect to Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science

An integrated index accessed via Web of Science, this tool helps to access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide since 1990. This resource offers a complete view of conference proceedings and their impact on global research, letting you use cited reference searching to track emerging ideas and new research beyond what is covered in the journal literature.


Connect to Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science and Humanities

An integrated index accessed via Web of Science, this tool helps to access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide since 1990. This resource offers a complete view of conference proceedings and their impact on global research, letting you use cited reference searching to track emerging ideas and new research beyond what is covered in the journal literature.


Connect to Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science and Humanities

Congress and the Nation

Congress and the Nation has been the definitive resource for researchers studying the actions of the U.S. Congress. This well established series from CQ Press offers comprehensive and signature coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to 2008. Congress and the Nation is the only resource that makes the actions of Congress understandable to any reader.


Connect to Congress and the Nation

Consumer Health Complete

This database is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Consumer Health Complete offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information.
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.


Connect to Consumer Health Complete

Counseling and Therapy in Video Online (v. 1)

Counseling and Therapy in Video (v. 1) provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.


Connect to Counseling and Therapy in Video Online (v. 1)

County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Indiana

First compiled and produced by publishers and subscriptions agents for area residents and patrons, these original histories represent difficult-to-find materials. Included in this collection of 262 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans (1857-1922)


Connect to County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Indiana

County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Ohio

Included in this collection of 305 titles (1852-1920) are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Vividly portrays portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations.


Connect to County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Ohio

CQ Press Political Reference Suite

CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions integrates many of CQ Press's acclaimed reference titles on government and politics into a user-friendly, electronic format that offers a number of Web-enabled features that makes navigating this wealth of content intuitive and easy.


Connect to CQ Press Political Reference Suite

CQ Researcher Online

Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.


Connect to CQ Researcher Online

CQ Weekly

CQ Weekly reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week. CQ Weekly Online includes an archive dating back to 1983. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.


Connect to CQ Weekly

CQ's Politics in America

Congressional Quarterly's Politics in America is a definitive source for information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts. Designed for use by political professionals, government officials, students, scholars, and interested citizens, it contains in-depth profiles of every member as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting.


Connect to CQ's Politics in America

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

2 simultaneous users.

An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.


Connect to CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in this database's coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 300,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. This resource includes full text for more than 200 magazines and journals, as well as full-text books and monographs.


Connect to Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Current Biography (see Biography Reference Bank)

As of February 2012, this database is part of EBSCOhost's Biography Reference Bank.


Current Chemical Reactions

Current Chemical Reactions delivers the latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.


Connect to Current Chemical Reactions

Current Contents Connect

Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books.


Connect to Current Contents Connect

Current Digest of the Russian Press

Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.


Connect to Current Digest of the Russian Press